Angus MacColl Wins Glenfiddich (more pix added)

Oban’s Angus MacColl won the Glenfiddich Championship today at Blair Castle. Angus placed first in the piobaireachd with End of the Great Bridge. He is pictured (right) on stage at Blair and left with the piobaireachd trophy. The MSR went to Stuart Liddell. A great result for Andrew Hayes who placed in his first ever G’fidd. The Balvenie Medal for services to piping went to the ever popular Rona Lightfoot who in an emotional acceptance speech said she was stuck for words – something that would please her husband Tony.
Overall: 1 Angus MacColl (£1500) 2 Stuart Liddell (£800) 3 Willie McCallum (£600)
Piobaireachd: 1 A MacColl (£250) 2 W McCallum, Daughter’s Lament (£220) 3 Dr Angus MacDonald, Lament for the Union (£200) 4 Andrew Hayes, Kintarbert’s Fancy (£180) 5 Stuart Liddell, Donald Ban MacCrimmon (£160)
MSR: 1 S Liddell (£250) 2 A MacColl (£220) 3 Roderick MacLeod (£200) 4 Iain Speirs (£180) 5 W McCallum (£160)

Judges: A Wright, J Taylor, J Wilson (Piob.); R Worrall, M McRae, C MacLellan(MSR); Fear an Tighe: Rona Lightfoot; Balvenie Medal: Rona Lightfoot

By | 2010-10-30T19:18:58+00:00 October 30th, 2010|General, Results|0 Comments

About the Author: